Minnesota law makes it a crime for anyone under the age of 21 to consume, purchase or possess alcoholic beverages. The only exception to this law is if the individual under 21 years of age consumes the alcohol in their parent or guardian's home and with their consent. The law also states that anyone under the age of 21, who is caught either consuming or having consumed alcoholic beverages while driving, will have their driver's license suspended.
The State of Minnesota has a zero-tolerance law in the area of minor consumption of alcohol, with penalties of up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. In addition, 16 and 17 year old drivers who violate the DWI laws are under the jurisdiction of adult court, not juvenile court, and are subject to full range of adult penalties and consequences.
If you have been charged with minor consumption or underage DWI you need to call the minor consumption attorneys at Bennerotte & Associates. The sooner you involve these highly skilled defense attorneys the better able they will be to gather evidence and address significant issues in your case.
Don't wait! Call the minor consumption attorneys at Bennerotte & Associates today or fill out our online form!